Catalyst Juice Cleanse: Pre-Cleanse Day #3

So my final day before the actual cleanse was on Friday, March 15. By the time day #3 rolled around, I was ready to start on my juices. For the final day before the cleanse, I completely eliminated all cooked foods to prepare my system for three days of juice. I’m definitely not a “raw foodie” by nature and enjoy the warmth and taste of cooked food, so I actually think this day was the most challenging.

Breakfast: Fruit

My books about cleansing recommend choosing one type of fruit for breakfast, specifically watermelon or papaya. I chose papaya –  good pick. The texture was nice and rich so it was filling and satisfying. So hot lemon water, a very little bit of coffee and papaya held me off until lunch.

Lunch: Gazpacho

I think I’d like this better in the summertime. Gazpacho is a very simple Spanish style vegetable soup served cold. Problem is, I was eating it at work and I was already freezing from the temperature in the building. It was full of tomatoes, orange peppers, yellow peppers, cucumber, garlic, and avocado. The flavor was really good with nice texture and great color, so I’ll definitely make this in the summer for a refreshing meal.

Dinner: Shaved Fennel Salad

I’m not usually a fan of fennel. At least, not when it’s by itself, which is kind of what this was. Just a fennel bulb, thinly sliced with lemon juice, olive oil, sea salt and pepper. I was surprised to find that I actually enjoyed it, and I would absolutely make this in the future. It was a pretty light meal but it kept me pretty full.

Snacks: Spicy Lemonade, Fruit, and Raw Nuts

Lemonade, a banana and some raw cashews.

Pre- Cleanse Day #2 Reaction/Thoughts

I’m still not into the whole raw food diet. I’ve considered it in the past and incorporate raw foods into my diet, but I never went 100% raw. The only thing I actually found I was craving the day before the cleanse was cooked foods. And eggs, for some reason. I don’t even really eat eggs – I usually eat tofu instead – so I think it was more of a protein craving. Interestingly enough, I ate dinner around 5pm and then went to a concert, and I didn’t get home until after 10pm. I wasn’t starving when I got home, which surprised me since dinner was so minimal. By the end of day #3, both Asha and I were ready to cleanse!

Leave a Reply

